Esther

images (22)

I am Hadassah. I am also called Esther. The King has ordered his men to take potential brides to the palace. I haven been gathered among many others. It is not what I expected my life to be. My uncle Mordecai assures me it will be fine, God will watch over me. I know I must believe that, it is so different here and there are so many beautiful women. There are whispers of Queen Vashti being banished.

We are put into chambers and bathed and perfumed. Our hair is brushed with sandalwood combs. Handmaidens attend us with food and drink. When summoned by the King we are given fine robes and jewelry to wear. For months we wait. In spite of my trembling, I have found favor with the King and been chosen as Queen.

My uncle Mordecai also has favor with the King and that has made him an enemy of Haman. He is a jealous and wicked man and he persuaded the King to pass a law to rid the land of the Jews. If he finds out I am Jewish, I will be killed also. I have called my uncle to the gate to ask him what to do.

He says he will pray for me and have others to pray for me, he believes that God put me in the palace for such a time as this. I pray he is right. I will fast and pray for three days before I approach the King. Haman has already set a date for the executions. There are gallows being built, I can hear the hammering.

Weak from prayer and fasting, my maid approaches me with a glass of water. I can only take a sip. I have ordered her to gather my best clothes and jewels and I will speak to the King. She helps me to my feet and I find my brush. She perfumes my hair once more. Soon I am ready, I am taking a chance for I am not supposed to go to Him until summoned. I open the heavy doors and see the throne. Then, He notices me. There are many guards, if he tells them to arrest me they will, but if he offers his scepter, I may speak to him.

By God’s grace alone, I am allowed to make a request. Haman is there. I invite my King and also Haman to a feast. They accept. I return to my quarters to make the arrangements and eat some fruit. Gradually, I win his trust and Haman is none the wiser as we eat.

When the King comes to my feast. I let them eat and drink, but then I tell him of a plot to kill me and my people. When he finds out that Haman would also have the Queen killed, he is outraged. Haman is hung on the gallows he had built. Uncle Mordecai was right, God put me here for such a time as this. Rebecca Jones / Adina Voicu

.

Leave a comment