Lydia

 

bw

I am Lydia, I am from Thyatira. I am a seller of purple in Phillipi. I am a smart business woman, I am not bragging, I am blessed. I believed in God but I have been converted to Christianity by Paul and Silas. I welcome them in my home even after their imprisonment and the uproar over a slave girl.

I have many servants and I keep my house and my business running smoothly. Purple is a a unique color and has to be dyed a certain way. It comes from only a certain kind of snail and is expensive so my clients are well off or affluent and even royalty. It gives me the opportunity to live a quality life, entertain and be hostess to many people.

I can given dinners and let Paul tell us of Jesus. I can afford to be generous to help him travel and lead others to Christ. I was baptized and serve the Lord Jesus with the glow of His Holy Spirit. I make time to pray even though I am very busy at times.

My home is a peaceful, restful, place.the Lord’s prescence is here. It is my desire to see other woman prosper and be in good heal, to overcome with the help of Jesus. I can be a helping hand to the poor, an open door to those minister Christ and the men and women who seek Him.

Paul says that I am a good example for women. I hope that is always true that my life is a shining example of the Lord. My story is in Acts 16. Rebecca Jones / stock photo

 

Leave a comment